19
Jun
08

pardon the interruption

Hi Everyone! Catnip here!

While we’re waiting for the next chapter I thought it would be a good time to address a few things.

First off, I’m so pleased so many of you are enjoying both our story as well as the format! I’ve been happily surprised at the positive response this site has had. Of course, that means I’d love to keep it going even after Foodie is over. I want to thank everyone who has been coming here faithfully and if this is your first time here, I encourage you to click on the Foodie category and catch up on the storyline so far!

Second, if you think you’d like to be an author and you’re wondering if there is still room, yes, I am continuing to accept writers. Email me at chapterbytes at gmail dot com.

So here’s what I need from you, both authors and readers; feedback. Lots and lots of feedback. Specifically, here is what I want to know:

  • What do you want to see for the genre of the next book? We have a huge range of possibilities. I won’t tell you what I’m leaning toward!
  • How would you feel about a second book starting before the first is finished? We could alternate posts, but you would always be able to find the all the chapters of whichever book you wanted by clicking on the category for that book. I think it could be really fun, but I want to know if you think it would be confusing.
  • Suggestions on finding new/more authors for upcoming books. We won’t do Chick Lit again next, and I don’t want to scare anyone away because that’s not their thing. Spread the word!!
  • How do you like the length of the posts so far? They’ve been averaging about 900 words. Would you prefer more or less or is it just about right?
  • For those of you who are avid readers, would you be interested in having a button for your blog’s sidebar similar to the button the authors have? If there’s enough of you who would like it, we (meaning my husband!) can make one.

Heres a few of the things I am definitely planning to change in the future:

  • I’d like to have a posting schedule and tighten up the deadlines. I originally set a two week deadline for each author. I can see now that it’s not necessary for it to be that long – no one has needed it. I also see that the readers don’t want to wait that long – 4 days seems to be the maximum time we all prefer between posts, otherwise we lose our momentum. On the flip side, I will never post chapters two days in a row, even if they’re ready to go, because it seems to take that long for all of the feed readers to get here and for the buzz about each chapter to get out. Keep in mind the schedule has to be slightly fluid since each author cannot start their piece until the previous chapter is written!
  • I will not be publicly posting an author order of appearance in the future. I will continue to post upcoming authors and their websites, but not the actual line-up. The authors will know, but the general public will not, since the sequence can change at anytime due to personal circumstances.
  • At some point I’m intending to move to self hosting. Right now I’m not able to have multiple streams of posts. When I make the switch I will definitely have more than one book running at a time, but they will each have their own area of the site to minimize confusion.

Is there anything you can think of that I haven’t addressed that you’d like to mention? Don’t be shy! I would love to hear from you, either here in the comments or by email. You can contact me anytime at chapterbytes at gmail dot com.

4 Responses to “pardon the interruption”


  1. June 19, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Would love to write a chapter. Just found out about this from Backpacking Dad, and it is extremely intriguing to me! I write poetry and lots of sappy stuff I’ve dealt with, but most of it isn’t on my current blog. I’m still trying to figure out how to move it all over from the black hole that is Myspace.

  2. June 19, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    I am wondering if we shouldn’t take the story out to a full close before we start another one…

  3. June 20, 2008 at 1:25 am

    I think I agree with Flutter, especially since we’re just four fairly short chapters into this one.

    Also, I’m a bit worried about shortening the turnaround time for the authors to complete their chapters. It’s possible I could complete mine in 4 days, but with two kids at home in the summer, that’s pretty tight (especially since I would like to have adequate time to edit before publishing it). Could we take that into consideration when making the decision, please?

  4. June 20, 2008 at 1:35 am

    Danielle-lee – Thanks! As we discussed via email – you’re now up on the authors page!

    Flutter and Jennifer – okay! I hear you 🙂 Although I didn’t mean I was starting it right away…I just want to get some of it lined up now. If everyone feels the same way I definitely wait until I move to a self hosted site and have separate book streams.

    Jennifer – I just want to clarify for you and everyone else wondering the same thing – I’m not changing the timeline expectation until the next book. The two week max stands for Foodie. And I may not even change it at all if it’s too scary for all the authors 🙂 Sorry for the confusion.

    Keep it coming ya’ll!!


Leave a Reply

