29
Jul
08

Foodie, Chapter 10

written by Danielle

“Evan?”

Malorie spun back around to Jack.

“Jack.”

Both men stared at her, waiting for her reply.

Malorie’s mind was racing. She could not make eye contact with Evan, but at the same time, instinctively knew that she must.

“I…….Evan…” Malorie trailed off. She meekly reached out to touch his arm as she attempted to raise her eyes to his face. Strong, broad chest. Thick neck. Perfectly shaped chin with a tiny dimple. Fleshy, kissable lips.

Malorie turned on her heel, walking briskly away from the two men, before she could summon the courage to reach his eyes. As she turned the corner and began running, she heard both Jack and Evan calling her name.

***************

Malorie barely made it to her car before the panic attack seized her. Tears streaming down her cheeks, she heard someone sobbing, vaguely aware that the pained sounds were coming from her own throat.

Fumbling in her large, trendy purse for her keys, she began cursing herself.

Damn purse. Why did I buy this stupid thing any way? I can’t find shit in it! Why did I let Jack convince me to meet him for dinner? Why didn’t I let Evan know where I was? Why can’t I get in my damn car??

After finding her keys, and dropping them twice trying to unlock her car, she pulled open the car door and slid in. Closing the door, Malorie laid her forehead on her steering wheel, and tried to calm her breathing. Her hands were clammy, and sweat was forming along her brow. She pulled her hair off of her neck, and closed her eyes.

Mind scrambling, Malorie put the car in drive when she was able to breathe. She picked up her cell phone as she maneuvered her way out of the parking lot.

The phone rang four times before the voicemail picked up: “Hi, you’ve missed me. Leave me a message and I’ll give you a yell when I can.” Beeeep.

Malorie took a deep breath, and spoke:

“Mom. Where are you? I really need to talk with you. Jack told me you gave him my contact information. Mom….he told me why he left me the way he did. I need you. I think I’m in love with Evan, and he just, oh Christ, he just saw me hugging Jack. And I don’t know what to do. Please call me.”

Malorie tossed the cell phone onto the passenger seat. What the hell do I do now? I can’t just expect Jack to explain everything to Evan. I can’t just pretend it didn’t happen. I can’t easily forgive Jack.

The warmth of Jack’s hug came back to her full force as she drove aimlessly down old neighborhood streets. His smell began to intertwine with Evan’s, and her mind was having trouble separating the kisses with Evan from the past with Jack.

Malorie found her way to the Culinary Institute. She sat in the parking lot for a while, re-playing the conversation with Jack and that one night with Evan. Tears welled in her eyes as she confronted herself, fully realizing that she was so afraid of hurting both men. Malorie could not figure out what to do, how to make the situation bearable, how to decide.

In the passenger seat, her cell phone began ringing. Malorie glanced over at it, only to see Jack’s number. She held her breath, and began to reach for her phone, only to bring her hand back to her chest when it went silent.

It began ringing again, and this time, it was Evan’s number. Again, she reached for it, only to withdraw again. She found herself growing light-headed, and let out a huge sigh.

Malorie took the keys out of the ignition and stepped out of her car with purpose.

It would hurt, but there was no other way.

Malorie entered the building and knocked on the door of Professor Talbot’s office. She could hear murmuring behind the door, and decided to wait it out in one of the chairs in the hallway. As soon as she sat down, the door opened, and Celine Richelieu walked out of the professor’s office.

Celine glanced at Malorie’s tear-streaked face, and gasped.

“Oh, honey, what’s wrong? Burn a soufflé?”

Malorie squinted at Celine, opened her mouth, only to close it again. She had no snippy reply, and didn’t have the energy to care at this point. She stood up and pushed past Celine to enter the professor’s office. She shut the door behind her, briefly leaning against the door frame.

“Malorie? What is wrong? Please take a seat.” Professor Talbot stood up behind his desk.

Malorie melted into the office chair, and hung her head.

“Professor Talbot, I have to withdraw from the program here.”

Professor Talbot sat down heavily. “What are you talking about? You are so talented. You have worked so hard! You’ve come so far. Why would you choose to leave the program?”

Malorie sat in silence, thinking of the pained look that would surely appear on Evan’s face when she tried to explain why she couldn’t live with him or be with him. Close behind, she thought of the look on Jack’s face when she tried to explain why she couldn’t ever talk to him again. She simply could not do this to either man. No.

Professor Talbot had made his way around the desk, and was leaning down in front of Malorie.

“Malorie? Malorie? Are you okay?”

Malorie stood up quickly, mumbling an apology to the professor as she stumbled out of the office. She could not control her tears as she ran out of the Culinary Institute, and across the large parking lot. Through her tears, she noticed that the moon had risen. She ran through cars, trying to find her own. She could hear the professor calling out to her across the parking lot. Her mind did not register the sound of screeching tires as she ran out from behind one row of cars towards the next.

Her mind exploded into a million bright stars as she felt the impact of the car. Her body skidded across the pavement, and the last thing she saw before her eyes fluttered closed was the moon, rising full and fat, glaring down on her.

10 Responses to “Foodie, Chapter 10”


  1. July 29, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    these two are NOT having good luck with cars! This was nicely done

  2. July 30, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Oh, the possibilities! I so wish I was writing next, I know EXACTLY where I would go with it! Very good.

  3. July 31, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Ack! This one had me anxious from beginning to end, and then DESTROYED.

    Nice work.

  4. August 1, 2008 at 3:01 am

    Wow! You really know how to grab the reader and give them a good shake! Very well done!

  5. August 1, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    I can’t even imagine what is going to happen next–so many twists & turns! You did a nice job. 🙂

  6. August 10, 2008 at 4:30 am

    Thanks for all the kind words, guys! I was so nervous about this! And then I loved it after I was done. 🙂 Ahhhh!


Leave a Reply

